What does it mean to delete yourself

Apps / software Delete WhatsApp message - immediately and after 7 days

display

WhatsApp users have been waiting eagerly for years for this update: Delete sent messages afterwards - in such a way that the recipient can no longer read them. The only small catch: you can only completely delete WhatsApp messages for the first hour after they have been sent. You can then remove individual messages from your own chat, but the recipient will still see them.But there is also a setting for this: The "self-deleting message", which is automatically deleted from the chat after 7 days. You can find out how all of this works here.

Delete WhatsApp message afterwards

If you have accidentally sent a message on WhatsApp, you can delete it within 7 minutes.

Android

Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

iPhone

display

Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

Self-erasing messages in WhatsApp: how does it work?

If you change the setting "Self-erasing messages"Activate, you can send messages in a WhatsApp chat, which automatically delete themselves after 7 days. This applies to both chat participants, but only for the messages that you have sent since the setting was activated. You have to make the setting in each case Activate for each chat individually. In group chats, however, only admins can activate this setting.
If you enable or disable the self-deleting messages, the chat participant will receive a notification about this. You should only send self-deleting messages to people you trust, because they can still send these messages on or save them by taking a screenshot or copying them before the 7 days have elapsed. It is also possible to receive self-deleting messages after the 7 days have expired by quoting or forwarding them to a chat in which the setting is not activated.
It is also good to know that the chat participant to whom you are sending a self-deleting message can still see it in the message preview on their smartphone after 7 days, if they do not open WhatsApp for 7 days. If a backup is made with the self-deleting messages, they will be saved there, but will disappear again when the backup is then restored.

Activate self-erasing message

display

In the WhatsApp settings, you can specify for each individual chat that the messages sent should be automatically deleted after 7 days.

Android

Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

display

iPhone

Follow our step-by-step instructions or take a look at the quick start guide.

Quick guide: Delete later on Android

  1. Press and hold the message to be deleted until it is highlighted or highlighted in blue and tap on the Trash can icon at the top of the system tray.
  2. Now select in the options "Delete for everyone" out.
  3. Your message will then be sent to you and the recipient as "You deleted this message"is displayed.

Quick guide: Delete later on the iPhone

  1. Press and hold the message you want to delete until a menu appears.
  2. From there, tap the right arrow and choose the option "Clear".
  3. Subsequently mark the relevant message with a tick on the left and tap on the Garbage can bottom left.
  4. A window appears in which you "Delete for everyone". Your message will then be displayed as deleted for you and the recipient and can no longer be read.

Quick Start Guide: Enable Self-Erasing Message - Android

  1. Select a WhatsApp chat you want and tap the at the top Names of the chat participant to get the Chat settings to open.
  2. Then select "Self-erasing messages".
  3. Activate the option with "A".
  4. Messages in the selected chat are now post 7 days automatically deleted.

Quick Start Guide: Enable Self-Erasing Message - iPhone

  1. Open any WhatsApp chat and tap the at the top Names of the chat partner.
  2. Then tap on "Self-erasing messages".
  3. Activate the setting with "A".
  4. After 7 days, the messages in the selected chat will now be automatically deleted.